Skip to content

There is no sax in the chapel…@Wheat & Tares

March 7, 2016

Long time, no see, folks. I have been really busy at work, but now that my projects have settled down, I have been really busy paying attention to my other hobbies…I’ve been able to get back into fencing, but I’ve also been able to get back into arranging and recording video game cover music. Here’s one of my latest pieces:

As I was thinking of a video to go along with this, I actually stumbled upon an idea that actually seemed somewhat notable…and so I wrote about it at Wheat & Tares. When we analogize the various members of the church to different instruments in an orchestra, how inclusive is this, really?

Well, it turns out that if the church is compared to a symphony orchestra, then it’s true that many instruments are valued, but not all of them.

The orchestra may not need only piccolos, but it *never* needs an electric guitar. If you want to play electric guitar, you have to find something other than an orchestra. A saxophonist may sometimes be invited to play with the orchestra, but only if he can conform his sound to that of a french hornists, or only if his conductor is picking musical selections from composers who wrote saxophone in with the orchestra.

In this way, a metaphor for inclusion can actually imply exclusion.

Hopefully, if you have time, you’ll check out my song or my post (or both???)

Leave a Reply

