Skip to content

RIP even to BKP…

July 5, 2015

centennial-broadcast-page-boyd-k-packer[1]

Saying that President Boyd K. Packer is probably not most disaffected Mormons’ (especially for disaffected gay Mormons) favorite general authority would be an immense understatement. In fact, Packer probably would go down as many people’s least favorites due to his talks and comments on homosexuality. (Although to be fair, it’s not like he’s alone, and it’s not like he’s the only general authority disliked for it.)

I don’t really have many comments on him, except just to wonder…why?

I understand intellectually that many people can feel strongly that homosexuality is wrong, and I understand further that being in a socially conservative, heteronormative religious tradition like Mormonism certainly should increase the likelihood that one feels that strongly.

At the same time…I don’t get it. 

I think that when people suggest that those most opposed to homosexuality are actually repressed, closeted gay men or women themselves, this is some sort of attempt to explain this. Like…it’s a way to say, “…maybe the only way one could feel this way is if he has skeletons in his own closet…?”

(Like, when people talk about sexuality as a choice, is this just repressed bisexuals reporting their own subjective experience of rejecting their desires toward one sex and pursuing desires toward the other?)

…I know, it seems a little silly. It seems a little silly to find that thought more palatable than just realizing that the opposition is really a lot simpler. (And plus, there are plenty of absolutely, unambiguously, totally straight people who say the same things so it really doesn’t work to try to pin repression on everyone.)

I dunno. So much for this post.

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. Lee Williams permalink

    Elder Boyd K. Packer: October 1976 Priesthood session of General Conference:
    “…it is time to vigorously resist.
    While I was in a mission on one occasion, a missionary said he had something to confess. I was very worried because he just could not get himself to tell me what he had done.
    After patient encouragement he finally blurted out, ‘I hit my companion.’
    ‘Oh, is that all,’ I said in great relief.
    ‘But I floored him,’ he said.
    After learning a little more [that the companion was gay], my response was ‘Well, thanks. Somebody had to do it, and it wouldn’t be well for a General Authority to solve the problem that way’.
    I am not recommending that course to you, but I am not omitting it.”

  2. Agellius permalink

    Maybe people who are loudly and proudly pro-gay marriage, though not gay themselves, are repressing something too. Maybe they are actually closeted bigots(?). : )

  3. Agellius,

    but for real, allies in a lot of ways are still verrrrry susceptible to saying and/or doing racist/sexist/heterosexist stuff.

    I really do think that a lot of people are repressing and sometimes, it still comes out.

Leave a Reply

