Skip to content

The Race

August 28, 2012

Race Runners

I feel like you and I are in a race…
but that’s not accurate.
I know that life is not a race, and I think that you know it too,
but
sometimes we forget.

We are not close.
I wish we were
but we are not.
I feel like I have to catch up with you,
but
I worry that I never will.

There was a time when we cross paths for just a moment
but
were you just lapping me
or
was I lapping you?

If I just lapped you
and I end the race that I’m on
(granting that my life is in some way a race track,
with a start and an end)

I will stop and wait for you.

but I worry that
we are not even on the racetrack
so you will never catch up.

If you just lapped me
and you end the race that you’re on
(granting that your life is in some way a race track,
with a start and an end)

do you even know that I’m here?

I feel like you and I are in a race…
but that’s not accurate…
but
even if it were
We are too differently focused.
I only want to gun you down
whereas
any real racer would want to finish first.

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. this is really an unusual post

    interesting though

    thanks for sharing it

  2. On FB, I crytpically wrote about this post in the following way:

    I must admit that I don’t get poetry. Using context clues, I understand that to be a poet, you either speak about universal subject matters archaically
    Or
    Speak about archaic subject matters universally.
    Then you insert line breaks wherever you feel like.

    Yep, that’s what I was feeling like today when I wrote this.

  3. Seth R. permalink

    For every winner out there – there are hundreds of losers.

    Chances are – you’re one of them.

  4. Catch up!. There are neither starts nor ends, there are crossroads and waves. Chase your delusions and fire at them. Let you be filled by Holy Hope and release the tribes there outside, to let them glide over the Royal Paradise!

Leave a Reply

