Skip to content

All work and no blog probably deserves an explanation…

January 12, 2012

Since I’m a natural introvert, I didn’t really suspect that there was anything strange about my parents’ post-work lives when I was growing up. Other than going to aikido or  something related to church (for my dad), or doing some kind of errands (for my mom), my parents seemed not to do much outside of the house when they got back from work. So, I thought that’s how most people live.

In fact, I’m still somewhat convinced of the following idea: while kids and teenagers and college students “hang out” after getting done with whatever their assigned tasks area, the distinguishing hallmark of a Real Adult (TM) is that one stays home after getting home.

…I don’t think my parents are shut-ins…I just thought (read: think) that’s how adults conduct their business. And, from the stories I hear about their coworkers, I can’t really blame them for not wanting to hang out with them either. (And I mean, if the people you see most often are bad coworkers or people from your ward at church, then I guess…it’s best to stay home.) Yet, the reason I am writing this post with a strongly implied hedge to all of my statements here is because at some point, someone pointed out that many adults do similar things to what kids/teenagers/college students do: they hang out with friends after they get back from work. Ever since, I’ve doubted whether that was true or not.

So, are my parents shut-ins and homebodies? Are they just introverts like myself? Or is there something else to explain this?

As I have started work (this time, as a full-time hire rather than an employee), I come to grips with a sobering fact that I also came to grips with when I was on my internship that may help to answer the question: work is exhausting. I mean, really, as in when I get home from work, I just want to go to sleep. Even if it is only 8:06PM.

Exhausted from work

I don't even take advantage of coffee...

(I’ll tell you that it is past 8:06PM in my time zone, and I’m basically keeping myself awake by sheer will power…I just have things that I want to do before going to bed.)

It’s strange how this works…when I was in school, I would stay up all hours of the night, and not be worse for wear…but working…I can guarantee I’ll be tired when I get back from work.

Although I am aware that there are changes everyone goes through as they grow up, I don’t quite think this is just an effect of getting old. After all, this happened on my internship two years ago, but disappeared when I got off of it. So, it seems to be something related to work.

That isn’t to say that work is bad…rather, it’s a kind of exhaustion from mental challenge. It’s something interesting that I simply didn’t experience a whole lot in school.

But what I really wanted to write this post for was to remark about how amazed I am at all of my Real Adult friends on the blogs who blog and comment and whatnot while holding real jobs. I mean, for me, it was easy to churn out entries here and at Wheat & Tares because I was either a college student or on break…no big deal for my schedule…but my co-permabloggers were doing the blogging thing while managing work commitments.

So, yeah, mad props. As for me, I haven’t figured out how to juggle the two together yet. So, if you haven’t fully noticed, my working has really decimated my presence on various social networking and social media sites.

This isn’t to mean that Irresistible (Dis)Grace or any of my other various online involvements will now be defunct…but, I really can’t commit to posting regularly…Ah well, I still post a status or two on Facebook (are you friends with me? Then again, do I want to be that public?)

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. I hear that’s exactly what life at a big 4 firm is supposed to be like. it’d probably be miserable for you if you were extroverted

  2. openminded,

    Maybe I’ll write about it, but they say that the different service lines (e.g., audit, tax, MIS) attract different personality…where more extroverted people will want to do audit and MIS and the more introverted people will do tax. The idea is that auditors and the advisory/MIS people will travel a lot, talk to clients, etc., etc., while the tax people will stay in their cubes at the home office or whatever.

    Ironically, though, on my internship I was out at the client site, and now, my first engagement coming back is out at the client.

  3. I suspect that it will get easier the more you get into a routine. Yes, it can be difficult at first (particularly transitioning from college/university) but once the newness/challenges wear off, it shouldn’t be so exhausting. That was my experience, anyway. There is so much to learn in the first few months, so much to take in, it’s no wonder it’s daunting.

    For me, leaving the office to take a lunch was important. It seemed like I would be too busy (and sometimes I am), but it can help me focus during the afternoon.

    So yeah, it can be exhausting at first, but eventually most people catch up and find time to have a life outside of work. At least I have…btw – it was also a goal for me to have outside interests and a life in addition to work – so that might have been part of it.

  4. aerin,

    Yeah, I guess for me and my particular industry, it depends on what clients I’m at too…For example, there’s a lot of late hours on hectic clients…at the engagement I was on last week, they had food brought to us for lunch and dinner just so that we wouldn’t have any reason to leave the office to take lunch.

    Eventually, I plan on joining a fencing club, so it’ll be crucial for me to find — or make — time.

Leave a Reply

