Skip to content

My spheres are colliding

July 26, 2011

My mom text messaged me to tell me that she and my father were watching a really good documentary.

What documentary?

Nobody Knows: The Untold Story of Black Mormons.Nobody Knows: The Untold Story of Black Mormons

…At this point I got excited because I totally know Margaret Blair Young.

Well…er, by “know,” I mean I may have blogged once with her.

Er, by “blogged once,” I mean I may have once commented at By Common Consent on one of her articles. And she probably wouldn’t have even seen my comment since I’m banninated there.

…I liked my life when my blogging world and the world of my parents were separate. These first world problems, man…

Anyway, after I pointed out that I knew one of the creators of the documentary, my mom texted back: SMH.

SMH? What’s SMH about this?

Her response: For somebody who is a self-proclaimed atheist, you sure are obsessed with Mormonism.

From my own mother! I am so misunderstood. I replied “Proverbs 22:6.”

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. not obsessed – it’s a constant having to fend off

    not unlike being gay in a heterosexual world

    you have to constantly come out to people so they don’t assume

Leave a Reply

