Skip to content

Belated happy birthday, Irresistible (Dis)Grace

November 27, 2010

Happy BirthdayEven though I knew the birthday of Irresistible (Dis)Grace comes sometime early in November, I was trying on purpose to avoid thinking about it. If I didn’t know the date, then would it even matter?

November 7th.

As soon as I saw it, I was weighed with responsibility. So now, a couple of weeks late, I’m just getting around to it. Here was the post dedicated to Irr (Dis)G’s turning 1-year-old.

…Now we’re 2-years-old! This pales in comparison to Daniel at Good Reason’s 5 years and 900 posts, but let’s see by how much…

In two years, I’ve gotten…86,351 page views, 511 posts written, and 5,341 comments. Hmm! Not so bad, actually. I’ve gotten battered a few times in some e-warfare, made a few enemies, pissed a few people off.  I haven’t been the best about posting regularly this year as a result, but here’s to looking forward to a new direction for the new year.

What’s more interesting, I guess, is how the landscape has changed since I’ve gotten started…

I did have a blog before this, but I never even thought about blogging about Mormon-related issues until one of my friends linked me to an article written by Adam Greenwood at Times and Seasons.

I hated it. And that made me hate Times and Seasons for a while too; it still had the Greenwood taint.

But at the same time, I was intrigued.

I found By Common Consent later, and I really enjoyed what I read there. I highly preferred it to T&S for the longest while. I still believe they have some really great writers there. It’s just that if you approach it as an open forum, they won’t be slow to disavow you of your mistaken understanding of what BCC is for.

Eventually, Irresistible (Dis)Grace got noted by a few people (like chanson and hawkgrrrl), so I was invited to write at Main Street Plaza and Mormon Matters, respectively. I have learned different things about the group blogging experience through each of those.

I learned a bit about the history of the bloggernacle, and the fact that everything isn’t all friendly and nice. Eventually, I learned for myself, getting put on the moderation list for By Common Consent (where I still am), and just recently, I’ve been put on Keepapitchinin’s “DAMU muck” list as well. I tried to fight against it, but now, I can’t get the bad flavor out of my mouth. Why was I fighting for entrance into a club that doesn’t want me, by whose rules I wouldn’t even abide? Why am I fighting to change the perceptions of people who never asked to be shown anything different from what they always had seen before?

In these two years, I’ve come really to enjoy Times and Seasons. I admit I don’t read it as often as I could (but then again, I don’t read *any* of the blogs to which I’ve subscribed as often as I can), but there are a few writers there (e.g., Dane Laverty and Jonathan Green) who I just love reading.

…But isn’t it funny how the friend whose link helped me to discover Times and Seasons (and the rest of the Bloggernacle) has since then defriended me on Facebook and blocked me on twitter?

What an exciting two years it has been.

I digress. In the midst of all the moderation, the bannings and the blockings, I appreciated that Mormon Matters took a decidedly different approach with moderation. That isn’t to say that there weren’t any problems with this, but…never would I have anticipated that now, Mormon Matters seems to be a ghost town.

Watching Wheat and Tares, the new blog effort from most of the cast at Mormon Matters, get up and running has been a surreal experience. Within just a couple of months, we have entered the top 100 ranked blogs for the Living and Religion categories at Technorati (although, honestly, I don’t know how prestigious that can be). I still feel we could be leveraging our twitter account better though.

So, I guess now it’s time to look forward to the next two years…and beyond.

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Happy Birthday, Irresistible (Dis)Grace!

    The SHAFT blog has more pageviews, but considerably fewer comments. And I’d much prefer the latter (comments) to the former (pageviews).

    You have a way of eliciting thoughtful and civil discussions, Andrew. Keep it up.

  2. aww shucks; I am in no way responsible for people wanting to comment here.

  3. Belated Happy Birthday! Enjoyed reading your take on the ride so far. You mentioned Dane Laverty and that reminded me of a thought I had about your blogging style: you’re the guy determined to thread that needle no matter how bad the room happens to be shaking from the effects of group polarization tectonics. And just because almost everybody else is either hollering to head for the exits or stubbornly straining to prop up the furniture while the walls collapse, that doesn’t make you wrong to stick with your chosen focus. Frustrating for some, maybe, but not wrong. And nearly always interesting. ¡Feliz Cumpleaños!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Happy 3rd Birthday, Irresistible (Dis)Grace! « Irresistible (Dis)Grace

Leave a Reply

