Skip to content

New blog subscription option

December 1, 2009

For all of you who are using wordpress.com too, you should check out WordPress’s new email subscription option. Activating this on your site is minimal work (just go to Widgets and add the Blog Subscriptions widget somewhere to a sidebar), so I guess the more important question is: why am I talking about this?

My normal habit has not been to subscribe to blogs. Normally, I just stroll around my favorite blogs at my own pace. Every once in a while, I just go through my blogroll and click all the links — just to see if any of the blogs have updated.

As you can imagine, I don’t do this frequently enough. Sometimes, I miss posts until they are a few days old. This is truly regrettable, since my blogroll list has some excellent bloggers across the Mormon spectrum (some of my current favored gems are Third Wave Mormon, Existentially LDS [and the new blog Seeking Desideratum], My Lone, but Not-So-Dreary World, and the newest I’ve found is A Search for Identity, Community, and God.)

So, I thought…what if there were a way to just subscribe to these great bloggers? Well…there probably is, but I probably haven’t looked hard enough (RSS? It is beneath me!). So, I’m trying to make Irr (Dis)G more accessible to others with a subscription link, and I hope others will take notice (wink wink, guys) and add links for email subscriptions to their sites.

From → Uncategorized

7 Comments
  1. Yay! My blog is one of your gems! 😀

    My blogger account has something similar. I “follow” the blogs I like, and when I log in to blogger, all the latest entries are right there on my homepage. They can also be seen in my google reader because blogger and google are connected like that.

  2. That’s actually one of the things I love about blogger…the list of latest entries per blog.

    Sometimes, honestly, I just go to your blog, read your latest post, and then go down your sidebar. That’s the extent of my laziness.

  3. Andrew, my way of blog-browsing sounds an awful lot like yours. But just for you, I’ll try to see if I can find an email sister-widget in blogger. 😉 Just be warned…I edit after posting…it’s bad form, I know. Blame it on my white-washing culture. hehe

    P.S. Wow, I’m totally flattered too! Thanks! 🙂

  4. I edit after posting too. Especially after writing comments. I always fear that people will get email updates seeing I’ve edited my own comments here several times.

    It’s probably a good thing I can’t edit my own comments on most other blogs

  5. Ha! That makes me laugh. Good to know I’m not the only one! By the way I’ve never gotten an email update when you’ve edited one of your comments, so no worries. 😉

  6. Sofal permalink

    Um… Google Reader?

    I have not yet seen a blog without an easy subscription link, either on the page or detected by Firefox.

  7. google reader and rss in general are tiresome.

    I don’t want to go outside my email to check for new entries.

Leave a Reply

