Skip to content

In another world…what would things be like?

June 24, 2009

Perhaps it’s because it’s too late at night, but I was just thinking…what if we lived in bizarro world?

In another world, I might be a hyperdevout Mormon dude, probably on my mission or preparing for my mission as we speak. Irresistible (Dis)Grace wouldn’t exist, or, if it did, it would be closer in content and in vigor to Jared’s LDS Alive in Christ blog. (And perhaps, in such a world, Jared would be the Irresistible (Dis)Grace characteristic exmormon atheist.)

Perhaps in such a world, Mormon Matters would be the preeminent blog in the bloggernacle…perhaps its very writers would have a different philosophy on the whole group blog concept, formed by much different experiences. Nine Moons would update more than once in a blue moon.

Maybe this is Jacks flavor?

Maybe this is Jack's flavor?

I was thinking about Jack’s ClobberBlog…my favorite evangelical blog. What would happen in topsy-turvy bizarro world? Perhaps Jack would be the Molly Mormon happily married to an evangelical husband, and maybe that clobber would become cobbler.

I need to get some sleep or something.

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Ha. No, I’m a cherry person, but peach is my husband’s favorite flavor, so we have it often enough.

    I really liked the show Sliders (before it went to pot). I always wondered what kind of person I’d be right now in parallel universes if certain details in my life had been different. For example, what would have happened if it had been LDS kids who reached out to me in high school instead of evangelical kids? I had three Mormon kids sitting near me in the class where my evangelical friend wound up inviting me to her church and changing my life, and I was hurting enough that I’m pretty sure I would have bought almost any religious message if the people bringing it had just shown me love. Would I be one of those Mormon women who vehemently defends all the cliches, that men need the priesthood because women are more spiritual, that motherhood is the complement to priesthood and women have mystical power coursing through their uteri, that God won’t tell us about Heavenly Mother because He can’t stand to have us defame His own wife as we do Him and His Son? Would I be wearing a bra over an undershirt today? These questions keep me awake at night, I swear!

    One way or another, I’m sure I would be at least as much of a brat as I am now.

  2. that’s the thing that also makes me wonder…what parts of our personalities remain to our core? I mean, if we could easily become someone we are the exact opposite of simply because of different life circumstances, then why are *we*?

    so I’d like to at least think there’s a significant part that wouldn’t change just due to circumstances or upbringing

  3. From a religious standpoint, I would like to think that I would have found my way to a saving relationship with Christ in some branch of Christianity—that God knows me eternally and would have drawn me from wherever I was. But where’s the fun if my speculations end there?

    I think it’s entirely possible that, in my above scenario, I would have been an “evangelical Mormon.” I think it’s likely that I also would have eventually rejected the patriarchal system within Mormonism and decided that the church was wrong on women in the priesthood, though I probably would have drank the kool-aid for a while. I practically did when I went through my phase of being extremely cuddly with LDS apologetics arguments.

    Would I have been a Mormon girl who fell for an evangelical guy? Hmm, that’s hard to say. I’m a little ashamed to admit that there’s only two evangelical guys I ever had strong feelings for, and one of them I only knew online. It was clear that the feelings were mutual, but he was in Texas (at your university, actually) and I was in Washington, then Utah, and we didn’t think we could make a distance relationship work. He eventually married another woman that he met online, so maybe I should have tried harder.

    The other was a guy from my Presbyterian church in Washington, and this guy was interesting. He was born LDS, but his parents divorced when his father decided to pursue fundamentalist Mormonism and polygamy (!). His grandfather is actually a pretty famous inventor (but I’m not going to tell you of what). So, this guy was evangelical with LDS roots and he liked to study Hebrew, Latin and Greek and talk about Mormonism, same as me. We spent one summer taking quite a few trips to the messianic Jewish congregation because they held their services in Hebrew and we loved it. Perfect match, right?

    Sadly, he just never seemed to think of me as more than a friend, and I got tired of waiting and moved on. He later got into Christian male modeling (that was the first I’d heard of it, too) and appeared as Jesus on the cover of a book. It was kind of funny.

    But what if this had really been bizarro world and I had converted to the LDS church in grade school (when I first tried to call the missionaries in response to an ad on TV), “gained a testimony” of it, then in high school developed a passion for showing evangelicals that Mormons are Christians and decided to attend an evangelical college where I subsequently tempted the virtuous evangelical boys with the forbidden fruit of a “cult” girl?

    Yes, I suppose that then, it could have happened. I still think I would have been a very evangelical, hot-tempered, patriarchy-hating Mormon though. That’s just who I am.

  4. Wow, my life is nowhere near as exciting…I don’t know if I’m too worried about that though. :p

    I think I have to agree (or hope to agree) that the core religious tenets would stay. It seems to me that the kind of personality change that would be required to make me a devout believer and theist (or make me have grown up that way all along) would be one that cuts away at what exactly makes me me, and I can see the same thing in the hatred of patriarchy.

    Perhaps I’m a bit naive, but I think that’s part of what makes people individuals. They have a way of thought that is internal to them, and it allows them to discern what is intuitive or not to them. So, even with heaps and heaps of culture or circumstantial information, I think people can pull ahead and see diamonds in the rough — and what will be a diamond to one won’t be to another.

    But it reminds me of a Zelophehad’s Daughters post — how utterly sickening would it be if everyone just “changed” in the hypothetical LDS heaven to want to be part of polygamous eternal exalted marriages? Yeah, yeah, it would be exaltation, but if our personalities must be changed at the core, then are *we* really enjoying it?

Leave a Reply

