Skip to content

Navel-gazing: Blogging is one of the best things I don’t talk about

June 4, 2009

In recent weeks, I’ve had a lot of recruiting events and networking events. It drove me to even write a crazy post relating the recruitment process for accounting firms to calvinism (which was really crazy.)

No, it really isn’t too bad…I just need some time to get away from it all…but one of the funny things that happens regularly is I’ll be talking with someone and we’ll bring up hobbies. It’s kinda easy to want to say, “Oh, I run a blog and I’m kinda serious about it sometimes,” but then I realize this would open up just a lovely barrage of more questions…what is the blog about? Can I visit?

Oh no, sorry, I shouldn’t have mentioned it…

I would normally have no problem telling people this information, but I don’t want to get dooce’d. Sorry.

And it just seems to me that this whole religious thing does end up being limiting. Not many people can talk about mormon issues, and many of those who can don’t want to do so in the way that I do (e.g., telling Mormons that I run this blog doesn’t exactly raise my stature with this.)

I don’t know. I wouldn’t give it up, but at the same time, I recognize that I’m in a rather particular niche.

In other news, I’ve added my twitter feed to the left hand side of the blog…specifically, look for @subversiveasset because that’s me. I still don’t think I’ve got the point of this twitter thing (really, what it’s done more is made me use the facebook status update more…it just seems to me that the kinds of people I’m friends with on Facebook would be more interested in hearing the kinds of things I should be tweeting about…but the kinds of people who follow me on twitter may not find it as relevant?) So, I dunno…maybe I just need to try to get more of a certain kind of twitter follower…I don’t have the luxury like BCC and M* where they start twitter accounts and immediately get legions of followers wanting to know about their latest posts.

I dunno. I’m so confused.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

