Skip to content

Things work out.

March 11, 2009

I was challenged earlier today to describe my life story in one sentence, and I didn’t have to take too long at all before I found my sentence: “Things somehow always go smoothly, because that’s how I operate.”

I can’t say that I have had too many crushing disappointments. I mean, that’s not to say that my life has been nothing but sunshine and daisies, but I don’t let these things get to me. Even if I get angry or sad, I know that it will pass eventually, so I don’t worry too much about it. When I see great misfortunes and tragedies with others, I have a sense that these things will not stay tragic.

I am truly embarrassed about some things. I recognize that some of these things might be petty…I truly and deeply regret and am deeply embarrassed to live in a country that is so socially conservative that, on the whole, it will not accept gay marriage. I guess this goes as well for the vast majority of the world, too. I know there are other issues to worry about, but this is one issue that just makes me cringe for society.

But…I have a feeling that things work out. It might not be tomorrow, and it might not be next week, and it might not be five years from now, but things have a way of being chaotic, yet constructive.

I feel like in the big picture, things balance out. It’s not like there is some order to the universe…so I’m not waxing theistic or deistic…but I feel that in the disorder and chaos of the universe, there is construction if we will only learn to recognize it. When I was younger, I’d get angry at people who spoke out against the Mormon church, because I identified with it (even though I didn’t believe). But now, I look back and recognize that groups that are antagonistic to the church do have the tendency to turn people away. In general, people are beginning to become turned off to big organized religion. They are beginning to become turned off to the “religious right” and the “moral majority” that has hijacked the Republican Party, for example. The number of unaffiliateds, “spiritual people,” unchurched, agnostics, atheists, etc., slowly creeps up. But even among believers, there are more people who are moderating their beliefs. I recognize that if atheists and nonbelievers go the wrong way and do not fix their excesses, that there will be backlash against us as there is against any other group that abuses its position.

When I think about the things that the Mormon church does that would make me angry, I realize too that the church faces flak for its activities. For everything that someone does, they are “balanced” because they face some adversity as well. So if I can look at a bigger picture, it’s easier to recognize that within disorder, there is construction. We can look at the injustice that is occurring now, or recognize that every injustice committed will incur a liability against it.

I have been kinda look at Discordianism (not seriously, but just because I had some time)…and also the Church of the SubGenius…and while I recognize the humor in these things (sometimes I get just a bit frustrated because SubGenius is too lackadaisical), I think that underneath some of the humor and silliness, they bring some solid ideas.

I dunno, I feel inadequate because I can’t really express it. But at the same time, that’s no problem. It’ll be understood if you get it, and it won’t if you don’t.

I wouldn’t say I’m an optimistic person or a faithful person…and I don’t want to seem like some new-agey kind of guy either… But I feel that in neutrality, from the chaos of positive and negative going together, we don’t have to worry that things will all be good or all be bad. The good and bad will work together if we will just accept that it will and stay back.

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. I agree. Things do lend themselves to moderation – although we might not know what that looks like at any given time. Sometimes not for individual countries or societies – but eventually over generations.

  2. Hi this blog is great I will be recommending it to friends.

  3. Interesting blog, I’ll try and spread the word.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. A Synthesis of Things Working Out and the Battle of Wills « Irresistible (Dis)Grace
  2. What if we aren’t a peculiar people? « Irresistible (Dis)Grace

Leave a Reply

