Skip to content

State of Irresistible (Dis)Grace

March 5, 2009

This is a completely useless post. I just wanted to think out loud about Irresistible (Dis)Grace, how it started, what I like about it, but what some of my reservations are. I started Irresistible (Dis)Grace on November 11, 2008, and to be honest, I don’t even remember why I had started it.

I know that, I didn’t put much thought into it. That sounds bad, but I’ll qualify: for my old blog, ISQA Report, I did the research (the site I just linked there is SATAN). I didn’t want to make a blog that would be utter crap. I can’t believe it now, but I actually conducted interest groups on facebook. I didn’t actually think I’d become well-known, but I didn’t want to become the blogging stereotype — one guy pretending he’s so important that people would actually care to read what he writes.

(Geez, I’m doing that right now, aren’t I?)

Anyway, my last blog was fun. I enjoyed it a lot, and I got a lot out of it. I didn’t have a set topic to it, however, and interestingly enough, not having a set topic made me a more inconstant writer — what to write about? I had some pretty lengthy hiatuses there.

Eventually, I decided to shut down ISQA and that was that. But then somehow I decided to start Irr (Dis)G and this is this.

…I really love this name. I thought of it while reading the wikipedia for Calvinism (because I was — dang, this sounds bad — facebook research-stalking my roommate, who is Presbyterian [which is Calvinist, btw]) and realizing that, in my experience, faith seems more like something that chooses you than something you choose. So, if there are elect and non-elect, I guess that sounds bad, but it seems how things are.

I had been introduced to blogs in the Bloggernacle by a friend, and I was really impressed by what I was reading at Mormon Matters and By Common Consent (the friend had actually linked to T&S…but T&S makes me…not so happy). BCC and MM made me think, for a while, that I could really get into this Mormon stuff again. So, that’s my shout-out to them (although, sorry John Dehlin, MM didn’t quite get me to stayLDS.)

Thanks to the bloggernacle, I’ve always had *something* to talk about. (Really, I guess I should feel bad for leeching off other articles, but I don’t. You know you like being linked to.) I’ve been steady with articles most days of the week (which some group blogs don’t even do, cough Nine Moons cough cough Main Street Plaza [oops, that’s probably my fault]).

I guess, because of copious linking out, this blog’s been much more successful as well. I got comments back from people early on (so there! I’m not blogging just to hear myself think), and I got an invitation to join the group blog Main Street Plaza…and then, another one to join Mormon Matters. I’d have to say, Chanson and Hawkgrrrl, that’s the best way to raise someone’s self esteem by 9 billion. (Millennial Star actually started following me on Twitter, which raised my self esteem by 3 billion or so, but then I realized that…I…often disagree…with M* [I try to be nice, but I see certain articles])

I’d never have guessed that Irr (Dis)G would end up in its current state with an Alexa rank of 480,486 complete with regular comments and commenters (although, I have a new poll on the site’s sidebar to see if I’m just being hit by one-timers or whatever [but if people were just showing up once, they wouldn’t vote in the poll?]) I guess I’m really just easily amused, but I dunno, I think this is something good.

Unfortunately, it won’t really mean much. And this is my regret.

I’m pincered in a small space. See, this is a really niche topic. If I tried to explain to people I know offline, 97% of them wouldn’t care about the issues I blog about (because they aren’t Mormon), and the other 3% wouldn’t like it (because they are faithful members). I don’t always fit into a good Mormon context (my position probably would disqualify me from LDSblogs or whatever), but on the other hand, when I see the Outer Blogness/Disaffected community, I sense there just isn’t as much opportunity. I know there are enough of us, but so many disaffected blogs shut down or go on hiatus or aren’t update regularly or take a different tone.

So, theoretically, I could apply to a much larger atheist/agnostic blogging community, but I guess I fear that I blog too much about Mormonism and ex-Mormonism to be relevant from a general atheist perspective either.

From → Uncategorized

10 Comments
  1. >(Geez, I’m doing that right now, aren’t I?)

    Why, yes. Yes you are.

    But I’ve said this before: Bloggers are all narcissists. Just accept it and move on.

  2. that was a rhetorical question!

  3. >[but if people were just showing up once, they wouldn’t vote in the poll?])

    Are you kidding? I don’t think I’ve ever seen a poll button I didn’t click, even on sites I was visiting only by accident. I don’t think I’m alone in this behavior, either.

  4. (Maybe I should read the whole post before commenting, and get them all in one)

  5. >that was a rhetorical question!

    Didn’t high school English teacher inform you that using rhetorical questions in writing is dangerous? Leave it to the experts.

  6. (yeah, you should’ve)

  7. I guess you should leave URL linking to the experts too.

  8. (by experts, I mean those who forget to put in the “http” in their comments and thus destroy their own attempts at shameless self-promotion.)

  9. This is one of the reasons why I post the my esoterically Mormon-centric thoughts to MSP and try to write on a variety of topics on my personal blog. Well, sort of a variety of topics — really it’s all about me. 😉

  10. I like reading your blog and your writing (everywhere you write). There is certainly plenty to say about lots of topics. I am not always able to comment on everything….I say – whatever works for you. Go with it.

Leave a Reply

