Skip to content

Aggies for Life: The Exhibit

March 3, 2009

So, as I mentioned in a previous article, the Aggies for Life campus group put up a pro-life stand. I thought it was just a one-day thing, but since they are keeping this up for a while, I got to go by today and take some pictures. I guess I promised that I wouldn’t needlessly post gruesome pictures on Irr (Dis)G…but I LIED! There goes my G-ratedness.

So, to begin my photojournal, a warning:

Self Explanatory, right.

Self Explanatory, right.

I guess I didn’t pay too much attention to what the official name of this was, but I know that for this current iteration (they travel across the state and country, I guess), the Aggies for Life group hosted it. There was a pamphlet that was succinctly named “Justice for All: The Exhibit” by one very nice guy who asked me about the Exhibit and how I liked it.

Justice for All

Justice for All

I didn’t take a picture of the man who was by the exhibit, but he was nice enough. I asked him some of my pressing questions from the last time, and although it took him a while, he answered decently. For example, since he believes abortion to be murder, I questioned about whether the mother or person conducting the abortion should be punished, and if so, how. My point was that if it’s murder, the punishment should match what their perceived punishment for murder (or at least, manslaughter), should be. The guy at the exhibit, who said he went by Bubba from Alabama, reluctantly agreed that under ideal laws, those who actually conduct the abortion should be tried for murder. The pregnant women should be better informed, but they are presumably guiltless.

Bubba said that he had himself adopted several children, so I guess that’s good that he puts money where is mouth is. He agreed that gay couples should be allowed to adopt children (although I wonder what his fellow Alabamans would think about that…or even closer, my fellow Texans?) and that adoption policies should be better fit to helping children reach stable homes.

This next picture is HUGE and has some graphic language, so I’ll just link to a thumbnail and hope that it is clickable.

The Free speech board

The Free speech board

The group seemed very interested in free speech, working with people to get their opinions, etc., They had various booths asking if people thought it appropriate to use graphic images in photos, with a yellow YES voting booth and a red NO voting booth. They had booths asking if abortion should be legal, or if someone would attend the exhibit or tell their friends.

But the BEST thing, which I linked above, was the Free Speech board, where anyone was allowed to write anything they wanted. I posted a link to the full-sized image, because the print is kinda small.

But of course, the best part was the actual exhibit with actual gruesome pictures…let me try to show you how tall this structure was.

grossness

grossback1

But it wasn’t just doom and gloom. They also had signs offering help for the trauma of going through an abortion.

hurting1

Like I said before, I thought this was professional-grade.

In closing, I’d suggest that if you want to stay on one particular student’s good side, you would best avoid mixing religion with her you-know-what.

From → Uncategorized

8 Comments
  1. Erin permalink

    I’ve always found it interesting that when someone murders a pregnant woman, they can get charged with two cases of manslaughter: one for the woman, the other for her baby/fetus/whatever you want to call it.

    Yet, abortion isn’t considered murder. Isn’t it the same outcome?

    True, I’m not a lawyer and I don’t know all the pesky details and loopholes–I guess it has something to do with the mother’s consent–but it just seems like an inconsistency to me.

  2. Erin, you’re right in that it has to do with the mother’s consent. Murder’s legal definition has to do with an *unlawful* killing, and with Roe v. Wade laws, an abortion conducted with the express permission of the mother is not unlawful. Obviously, if Roe v. Wade were overturned, then abortion *should* have the same penalties as murder. Similarly, abortions conducted without permission of the mother are still murder.

  3. Nicholas permalink

    Also, it would be inconsistent from the perspective of violation of rights of the fetus, but not from the perspective of upholding the mother’s right to her own body. As of right now, the law effectively holds with the latter.

  4. Hrmph. I thought this was going to be a post about the awesome tradition at my Alma Mater.

    Needless to say, I was very disappointed.

  5. actually, Scott, every time you refer to aggies, I get *my* hopes up.

  6. Yes, Nicholas, good point.

  7. Ha! That never entered my mind. I shall be more forgiving than I was this time!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Sunday in Outer Blogness: Back in Business Edition! | Main Street Plaza

Leave a Reply

