Skip to content

According to Glenn Beck, I am “taking America in”

March 2, 2009

As the Friendly Atheist has commented, Glenn Beck has posted several traits that TRUE Americans who will TAKE BACK THE COUNTRY should believe in. And I mean, he allows for people to lack 2 of the 9 traits and still be American, but really. Really, now.

The Nine Principles

1. America is good.

2. I believe in God and He is the Center of my Life.

3. I must always try to be a more honest person than I was yesterday.

4. The family is sacred. My spouse and I are the ultimate authority, not the government.

5. If you break the law you pay the penalty. Justice is blind and no one is above it.

6. I have a right to life, liberty and pursuit of happiness, but there is no guarantee of equal results.

7. I work hard for what I have and I will share it with who I want to. Government cannot force me to be charitable.

8. It is not un-American for me to disagree with authority or to share my personal opinion.

9. The government works for me. I do not answer to them, they answer to me.

Oops. 2 is just plain out for me. Whatever will I do!?

Now, 4 sounds like a good idea, but the problem is I don’t know what Beck means. Does Beck mean that the family is sacred as far as it applies to a certain definition of the family? I mean, Beck should really know better since in the Prop 8 mess, he had to deal with the Evangelicals who supported his traditional views on marriage, but who wouldn’t accept his central belief in God. Oops! But apparently, he’s completely ok with a tyranny of the people being the ultimate authority and not a man or woman and his or her spouse.

Beyond that, this is really just basic conservatism (or at least, whatever conservatism has become since being hijacked by religion in part) dressed up as what it means to be a True American. Although, I will say that his points 3 and 8 are admirable. Although, I’m nearly 100% sure that Beck only says 8 because those blasted liberals are in power, so now it’s time for True Americans to speak out against liberal spending.

(Also, if no one is above the justice, how is the family the ultimate authority?)

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. Why wait for equality? Why beg and plead for it?

    National Equality Tax Revolt –

    Amend the Civil Rights Act of 1964 to include Sexual Orientation, Gender Identity, and Gender Expression!

    REVOLT – Wednesday, April 15, 2009

    Period.

  2. I disagree with point 3. It implies that no matter how honest you get, you can always be “more honest.” Not sure I buy that.

    Even if it’s is true however, I have the suspicion that there is a point where the law of diminishing returns dictates that further efforts to make myself “honester” will be a waste of time better spent elsewhere.

  3. Even Tony Soprano would agree with 1,4,5,7,8, and 9. Which puts him just outside Beck’s “true American” circle, I guess.

    Nice blog. Hadn’t seen it before. Adding you to my ex-mo blogroll at Equality Time.

    Peace,

    E.

  4. Seth, that was a point someone else pointed out before. If you become more honest, that really means you weren’t honest before…

  5. Thanks Equality, let me get to adding you to my roll over here as well.

Leave a Reply

