Skip to content

If I were God, what would I think?

February 10, 2009

I guess I should just admit right here and now that I’d also be a lousy God. I admit it. But if I were god, there would be some attitudes and thoughts that would kinda irk me.

It wouldn’t be people being gay (and I guess I presumably, being god, would know how that happens and what that is all about.) It wouldn’t necessarily be over people not believing in me (although my dad has a crazy belief about this life and how parenting is god preparation and he claims that through parenting, he understands God’s pain when his children do not trust in heim).

So, what would I care about?

Ok, I guess I lied (can God do that?)… I would care if people didn’t believe in me. But not in me specifically…in what I’ve done. If I were God, I’d be incredibly perturbed that people would reject science and cling to miracles. MY GOODNESS (or I guess I should say, for role playing purposes, MY ME!), do you have any idea how complicated your circulatory system is? And even through that, you still can get cancer. I really put a curveball there! And even though my ways have given you ample proof for you to come to an understanding of my exact ways, you ignore all of that and get this strange idea that I would rather you believe that my house is not a house of order. You ignore all of that and imagine that the Mona Lisa was created in an hour, instead of paying attention to the fact that such intricate work takes time.

If I were REALLY concerned about people worshipping idols and false gods, I’d be on the lookout for such a false god that people have taken to as this one. This god makes it seem so effortless — as if he hasn’t set rules to make things work. This god is illogical and despicable. And yet people will worship him.

But once you saw my works and began to study them, as long as you appreciated those works, I wouldn’t necessarily care (to an extent) if you recognized that I was the guy behind them. If you can appreciate nature, humanity, the capacity that I gave you to commit great acts of love as well as great acts of evil — it’s your choice — if you can appreciate that, honor me by making the best choices. Honor me by inspiring and engendering love, instead of hatred and division.

But I will say…if you’re doing all that you can do in the right direction, I will say that you will inevitably draw closer to me. Your curiousity, if matched with action to seek the laws of the universe, must lead you to the source. You need not look heavenward for some reward after you’re dead — in fact, that just might be a false idol I so despise. As you learn my ways and my laws, you will be instantly blessed by your own doing. You will be more powerful and more capable, you will have the tools to fight your limitations and increase your strengths. You will come to an understanding of laws that rivals my own and you will come to know what I know. And eventually, you will meet with me and we shall be equals. And then you can have all that I have, because you will be able to handle it.

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. and if you where god I guess everyone would get to go to the place where you are and live for all eternity in happiness. That sounds great, then all the Jews killed by the Nazis would be able to meet up with Hitler and thank him for send them ahead early. All the people in the WTC could thank the suicide pilots for helping meet you sooner.

    You should have stopped with “I’d also be a lousy God”, that sums up your entire post.

    A true God would give blessings to those that knew who He was and would punish those that reject His grace. He set up a magnificent creation for us to marvel as His amazing abilities so we would know He was there.

    Everyone one knows that a painter made the Mona Lisa and a creator made the creation we live in. His rules, His laws His sustaining balance of life…. isn’t Jesus wonderful?

  2. mcoville, thanks for the comment, but still, it’s still not focused properly.

    If I were god, then when people died, they would just die. Death does not get you a “game over menu” and the credits and your high score.

    So, the goal would be to see who could advance to reach immortality through medical science, etc., If people destroyed themselves or others instead, well…then that’s what would happen there. That’s how people estrange themselves from god.

    The goal to advance to see me, if I were god, would be who could advance through the universe and discover its secrets. A true god would not give blessings to those who simply die with his name on his lips. A true god would not simply give blessings to those who claimed to know who he was (but did not have the works to truly back up that they understood his ways or his mechanisms and could appreciate and work with these ways and mechanisms).

    Everyone knows that a painter made the Mona Lisa through very controlled techniques, so then we should recognize that the universe was also created through very controlled techniques. His rules are evolution and the laws of science. God is master scientist, so how best to pay him homage than to appreciate that?

  3. I completely agree with your last 2 paragraphs. “A true god would not give blessings to those who simply die with his name on his lips.”, he would give blessings to those that confess his name and follow him daily. “A true god would not simply give blessings to those who claimed to know who he was “, if they do exhibit His values they would be hypocrites. The true God will definitely know who is paying Him lip service and who truly know Him on the day of judgment.(Matthew 7:21-23)

    “His rules are evolution and the laws of science. God is [the] master scientist, so how best to pay him homage than to appreciate that?” I could not have said it better myself. How do you propose we “pay homage” to Him?

  4. I think a little differently on the issue of course.

    To pay homage is to do so in every aspect. So, it’s not enough to preach or to study the word on Sunday. It’s not even enough to preach and proselytize throughout the week. Because this is only ONE way and it implies that there’s only one way.

    Really, in every field that there is truth and fact, that’s what people need to be studying. We cannot neglect science or art or music or math, and we cannot be fearful of these things. When people put these things “below” religion or as “enemies of” religion, then they hurt themselves and they hurt their cause.

  5. Divinization, narrowing the space between God and humans, was part of Early Christian belief. St. Athanasius of Alexandria (Eastern Orthodox) wrote, regarding theosis, “The Son of God became man, that we might become God.” Irenaeus wrote in the late 2nd Century: “we have not been made gods from the beginning, but at first merely men, then at length gods” Justin Martyr in mid 2nd Century said: “all men are deemed worthy of becoming ‘gods,’ and of having power to become sons of the Highest” Clement of Alexandria explained “Saints . . pure in heart . . are destined to sit on thrones with the other gods that have been first put in their places by the Savior.” The Gospel of Thomas (which pre-dates the 4 Gospels, but was considered non-canonical by the Nicene Council) quotes the Savior: “He who will drink from my mouth will become as I am: I myself shall become he, and the things that are hidden will be revealed to him,” (Gospel of Thomas 50, 28-30, Nag Hammadi Library in English, J.M.Robinson, 1st ed 1977; 3rd ed. 1988) For further information on this subject, refer to http://NewTestamentTempleRitual.blogspot.com The Church of Jesus Christ (LDS) agrees with Early Christian church leaders regarding theosis.

    In the words of Church of Jesus Christ (LDS) Apostle, Bruce R. McConkie: “There is and can only be one who is supreme, who is the head and to who all others are subject”. Becoming like God is not saying we will ever be equal to Him, frankly we won’t and can’t. He, and only He, will forever be worshipped by us.

Leave a Reply

