Skip to content

So, where did trust in God get us?

February 6, 2009

Straight from the Friendly Atheist Quote of the Day:

“Courtesy of Harvard professor Niall Ferguson in Vanity Fair:

The motto “In God we trust” was added to the dollar bill in 1957. Since then its purchasing power, relative to the consumer price index, has declined by a staggering 87 percent.

I guess consumer confidence in God wasnt great enough

I guess consumer confidence in God wasn't great enough

Obviously, this isn’t a serious post. I hope someone doesn’t furiously leave the site thinking, “EGADS THAT ANDREW S CAD!”

It’s just interesting how trusting in gold is just a touch more valuable than trusting in God.

It reminds me of how I chuckle every time I see a “Pray to end abortion” sign.

Maybe you might want to communicate with someone closer to D.C. than God

Maybe you might want to communicate with someone closer to D.C. than God

I’m just being spastic now, but interestingly enough is that many people who will use a scripture like this one, but not be Mormon of course, and they will posit that we did not exist very long before being born (so the soul was created sometime around conception or something like that). Definitely not a lot of love for a premortal existence. I don’t know why that is, and I don’t know if there’s anything official that makes groups shy away from it.

I thought that I might make something serious out of it, but I won’t. Carry on with your day.

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Christians are curious creatures. They obsess about the unborn but have no problem with war and strife.

  2. I had once heard the explanation for this: the unborn are innocent. People who’ve lived for a while and become the sights of us in war must *obviously* not be innocent.

    That’s their story and they’re sticking to it.

  3. The problem with the phrase “In God We Trust” on money is that is does not identify which “God”. Most Americans trust the “God” of money, since that is where it is printed. If we where more specific and said “In Jesus We Trust”, and then followed through with that motto, it would have more of an effect on out economy.

  4. I dunno, I think still it wouldn’t have much more of an effect. It just encourages people to say things without thinking about it much at all. Even if we become more specific about it, people still can erase the full meaning out of things. I mean, look at what has happened to Christmas — Christ’s name is in there, but it has become so sterilized and commercialized.

Leave a Reply

