Skip to content

Responses to 3 Changes for Mormons Against Women’s Ordination

April 10, 2014

Last week, I published my article, 3 Changes that Mormons Against Women’s Ordination Ought to Support. Now that General Conference has come and passed, I wanted to post a few responses to the post that I got.

From Jettboy:

An ex-Mormon giving advice on how Mormons should do things? Please. That right there is why so many don’t trust the so-called OW movement. They claim “insider” status, but talk like and have the leadership of outsiders. I hear that the Community of Christ (formerly RLDS) has a great equality organization.

Also, a comment from Facebook:

 So this is how some would have the Church be led: The ‘enlightened one’s’ create blogs critical of Church Doctrine and Church leaders. They then provide solutions to Church leader’s who listen and agree. They in turn pass such wisdom on to the Prophet, who relays it to God, who then feeds it back to the Prophet in the form of modern day revelation. My oh my, how ‘special’ is that?

It ultimately turns out that I have apparently not been doing these Mormon internets for long enough, because I was not prepared for the entire post to be dismissed simply as exmormons exmorm-ing.

My response?

So, this is really happening.

Look, I don’t care what members or the church say or do. I do not claim to be associated with Ordain Women precisely because I am not an active, believing member, and I think OW is best reserved for those who are.

What I do think is this: if believing Mormons want to claim that their religion treats women and men equally (even if they believe that equality doesn’t equal sameness), then there is still work to be done to address inequalities without making everyone the same.

Mormons can ultimately decide whether they actually care about equality or not. I know many religious traditions and religious adherents who openly recognize they don’t believe equality is what God is going for and that men should be considered superior to women. If Mormons want to be such a group, that’s fine, as long as people are open about that

I just wonder about the participants and supporters of Ordain Women, and those sympathetic to them. Having been told, directly and indirectly, by members, leaders, and others, that what they are doing is not appreciated and they are (probably) not considered sufficiently Mormon for their actions, will many of them internalize that message and decide not to be Mormon anymore?

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. I enjoyed your “3 Changes that Mormons Against Women’s Ordination Ought to Support” article. I especially liked the charts. They spelled things out very clearly.

    In answer to your question: “will many of them internalize that message and decide not to be Mormon anymore?” I think that this will be such an emotional and intense experience for some of the women that it will nudge them closer to leaving. It will likely be the last straw for some of them who have been questioning for awhile. My eyes are on the leadership of the group. Many people are going to react to whatever they do as a result of this. Will the church take action against them?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Sunday in Outer Blogness: Now what? edition! » Main Street Plaza

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 180 other followers

