Skip to content

Merry Christmas 2012!

December 25, 2012

So here we are, nearing the close of yet another year. Today is Christmas day.

I’ve seen different people post about what Christmas means for them. What does Christmas mean for someone who doesn’t believe in God? Should nonbelievers perpetuate the Santa narrative, or does it even matter? Even if they do (or especially if they don’t), can nonbelievers really appreciate the holiday?

For me, I have to say that holidays aren’t all that magical. I don’t think it has been a difference between belief and nonbelief — even when my parents initially let the Santa cat out of the bag, (“Santa can’t come to Houston because it’s too hot”) I was still anxious each time Christmas Eve came around for a few more years.

Instead, I think it was just a part of growing up…these days, I can’t even remember how old I am, and if it weren’t for Facebook, I would probably forget when my birthday was. Trying to remember how old my youngest brother or sister is? Impossible.

Holiday excitement has definitely gone by the wayside in light of all that.

But for me now, the holiday season is the time for me to see my family. And you know what? I think that that’s a good enough reason for the season. No need for magic or even for myth. (Although I’m not saying that there’s anything wrong with myth.)

Today, I whisked around the house helping my aunt set up her new Chromebook, helping my mom become acquainted with her new tablet, and helping my sister brave Windows 8. And after that, I baked delicious peanut butter blossoms.

image

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Those cookies look good! Family gatherings are a great part of the holiday.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 178 other followers

